Poem 13 – After ‘Silent Worship’

Did you not see my lady as she went passing by,
So beautiful that the roses turned in shame?
Perhaps she walked in silence, and I suspect that I know why –
Her voice of honey is too sweet for this small lane.

Perhaps she did not speak because I was there
And she rarely deigns to let me hear her voice
But for her disdain I love her in vain and feel unending care
And I do so gladly, though I do not love by choice.

Did you not see my lady as she passed by us here,
With a dress more glorious than the flowers at her feet could be?
I know I saw my lady, but as I write this I fear
My wonderful lady never will see me.

***

Dear readers,
I hope that you are well. Today’s poem is inspired to a great extent by the text of a song I’m rather fond of – Handel’s ‘Silent Worship’. If you want to listen to it, there are quite a few versions on YouTube – one that I quite liked was by Kenneth McKellar: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r8O_mweSH9U&feature=related. Perhaps you’ll like it too – perhaps not. Either way, feel free to comment and voice your own opinion. I’d love to hear what you think.
Yours sincerely,
The Hapless Neo-Romantic

Tell us what you thought, or if to you these words are naught.

