Poem 22 – After ‘Darn that Dream’

Damn that woman who pursues me in sleep,
And curse her beguiling guise.
I hope that she’ll not say again ‘I love you’ behind closed eyes.
I loathe all of these fancies,
Whatever they might mean,
Unless of course she might fill my life as she now haunts my dreams.

***

Dear readers,
Today’s poem is another poem inspired by a song that I’m fond of – in this case, ‘Darn that Dream’. The first version of the song I heard was with Miles Davis and Kenny Hagood, and can be found here, though there are lots of versions that are equally good. I hope you enjoy it – I certainly did, and the rest of the album is worth buying. I apologise for the short poem – I’m a tad busy, having just gone to university, but should be able to maintain the flow of poetry. 
As always, I hope that you enjoy the poetry,
The Hapless Neo-Romantic.

Tell us what you thought, or if to you these words are naught.

