Poem 38 – I Wish I Were

I wish I were not wishing,
I wish that you were near,
I hope that you’ll come back to me,
But I’m filled with fear.
For some day I might hear of you again,
And with a tear in my eye
I’ll wish that I’d been there with you
As softly you did die.

***

Dear readers,
This poem is a response to the Daily Post Challenge ‘I wish I were’. It goes out to all those people who’ve lost touch with someone, have friends and relatives in places where they’re in danger, or, perhaps most importantly of all, live themselves in areas where they cannot be sure of their own safety. As an almost offensively bourgeois student, I must confess to having little direct experience of this other than relatives in the army, but I hope that you’ll concede to me the right to be concerned about other human beings. If not, fair enough – I probably don’t understand beyond the first class mentioned in the dedication.
As ever, I’d love to hear what you think, so comment below, and tell me what you think of the poem, and any relevant stories that you might have and want to share.
Kind regards, as ever,
The Hapless Neo-Romantic

4 thoughts on “Poem 38 – I Wish I Were

  1. Of course you’re entitled to show compassion without necessarily having experienced it. It’s called empathy and supposed to be one of the things that separate us from the rest of the animal kingdom.

    • I’m delighted that you agree I’m entitled to show compassion. Although I’m not going to get into the whole ‘can animals feel empathy?’ debate here… I feel that’s somewhat beside the point, and I’m supposed to be the moderator of the comments.

  2. Pingback: I wish I were… « 3rdculturechildren

  3. Pingback: Poem 431 – Sunset at Heathrow | The Hapless Neo-Romantic

Tell us what you thought, or if to you these words are naught.

