Poem 40 – Dancing

Tango, a three-four, as we
Dance on, the dance floor,
Feel, my arms as they
Wrap ’round, your waist dear,
Feel, this beat, as we
Move here, a three-four,
Feel, this beat, and then
Ask me, for more, four.

Dance now, a three-four,
Turn with, me once more,
Breathe with, the music,
Step with, the music,
Smile as, we move here,
And dance here, just once more.

One-cha-a-three-four. Don’t
Leave me, my dear one,
Not now, it’s such fun,
Stay in, my arms dear, don’t
Fall to, the dark fear,
Dance now, let yourself, be
Mine. A three-four.

***

Time, (Two-three)
Chimes to me
Ringing very slowly
As we waltz. (Three).

Once (Two-three) we
Tangoed with me,
Tangoed (Two-three) un-
-til the day was done.

Now, (Two-three),
Time you see,
Wants us to
Dance so slow-
-ly (Two-three).
Wants you to grow
Old with me –
Would you care
To still be
Mine? (Two-three).

***

Now – two 
March – two
March to your
Death. Two.
March alone,
To your death –
One – but
Smile – two 
For the time
That we
Had – two.

***

One,
Death,
Peace,
Love,
Dance,
Love,
Peace, In,
Death.
One.

***

Dear readers,
Today’s offering is somewhat… longer than the last posting to say the least. I think I can also say with confidence that it is by far the most strangely-rhythmed (That’s not an actual word, I know, but it conveys the point) post that I have so far uploaded. The idea came from listening to Siboney, as sung by Juan Diego Florez (Alas, no recording is available on YouTube), when I realised that the poetry I was writing something that, in my head, had roughly the same rhythm, but would not if it was read in the form that it was written down. This led to the bizarre comma and line usage you see above, in a desperate attempt to convey what roughly corresponds to a tango rhythm. Somehow, I doubt that my next poem will seek to convey syncopation…

The logical extention of this (Yes, WordPress, I do insist on using the English spelling when I notice) was to continue with the couple of the first tango-esque poem as they grew older. First they waltz (Apologies for the quavers, but I felt they were necessary to break the otherwise dull rhythm), and then one of them dies, leading to the solitary march. I honestly have no idea why they died. And then there’s the last verse, in one-in-a-bar – one of the hardest verses, since I had to convey the final thoughts in words of one syllable, while still having meaning to them.

I hope that you consider my efforts to have been successful. Do any of you dance? Or listen to such music? Feel free to share in the comments.
And dance! (A three-four)
The Hapless Neo-Romantic

Tell us what you thought, or if to you these words are naught.

