Poem 42 – A Moment

Have you got a moment to spare,
With your blue twinkling eyes?
Feel free to say no to me,
For I’m used to being denied.
Turn away and never stay –
My heart won’t die as you go.
I just want to say that I love you –
I just wanted for you to know.

***

Dear readers,
I will admit it – I did consider composing some lines with a title such as ‘On the re-election of President Obama’, but I stopped myself, realising that this was probably not going to end with a good poem. This is, in part, due to the fact that the U.S. election is scheduled at a time most inhospitable to a British audience, and I have had precious little sleep. Instead, have a nice little 8-liner, a style of poem that I feel manages to be succinct and yet has the challenge of conveying a plot, often through implied back-story, and also has a certain charm through its short length. I’ve written something like this before – For You Are Free. Blimey September seems like a long time ago! So many poems, and so many other things!
Be well,
The Hapless Neo-Romantic

Tell us what you thought, or if to you these words are naught.

