Poem 43 – Say that not to Me

No! Say that not to me,
Say not your childish platitudes,
Or your mincing words called kindness.
Say not that hope still leaves and breathes,
Or that all men should dare to dream –
I refuse to listen, to bend my ear.
To your words of mirth I can but leer.

Say not that tomorrow the sun will rise,
For the world sits in eternal darkness,
The night unending of my sin,
Sunk low in deepest depravity.
Can you not tell of the hell I’m in –
Say not I can be redeemed.
Once I listened when they said those words –
Because of that I dared to dream.

***

Dear readers,
Today I present you with a less than optimistic poem, which I hope you will enjoy. I suspect that in part it is inspired by my recent viewing of the new trailer for Les Miserables‘. It looks good, although if I don’t want to commit to any comment before I actually see it. Anyone else seen the trailer? What do you think? (Or, alternatively, comment on the poem).
All the best,
The Hapless Neo-Romantic

Tell us what you thought, or if to you these words are naught.

