Poem 53 – You Belong then to my Enemy

‘Frankenstein? You belong then to my enemy – to him towards whom I have sworn eternal revenge; you shall be my first victim.’
The Monster to William Frankenstein
Mary Shelley, Frankenstein, Chapter 16

You say you are one of them,
‘gainst whom I have sworn revenge –
Well then, I’m vested with the power of justice.
They acted as though they thought they could wound me without fear –
Oh what happy chance that some Fate should bring you near.
You shall be my first victim, and I shall make you mine –
I’ll take the kin of my enemy in justice most sublime.

***

Dear readers,
Although inspired by a quote from Frankenstein, I decided to make this one a little more general. The Monster’s decision to kill William Frankenstein is the point at which he is decisively identified as the destructive force he is to be – and when he finds a way to have vengeance against Victor Frankenstein, his creator. It is, like the rest of the novel, astonishingly well-written. I imagine that those of you who have read it will probably disagree with some of my points – I would appreciate correction, as always.
Kind regards,
The Hapless Neo-Romantic.

Tell us what you thought, or if to you these words are naught.

