Poem 54 – The Same

‘My companion must be of the same species and have the same defects. This being you must create’
– The Monster to Victor Frankenstein
Mary Shelley, Frankenstein, Chapter 16

The same haunted eyes and matted hair as I,
The same defects of my brow,
And the very same complexion that I wield before you now.
The same origins in innocence,
The same fall into sin,
An identical spurning by Man –
Create these in my kin.
I wish you to bestow on her a curse just like my own.
Create her, Victor Frankenstein, that I am not alone.

***

Dear readers,
I would apologise, but frankly remaining in Chapter 16 is hardly a heavy task. The Monster asks Frankenstein to create for him a bride, that he is not alone. I find the idea interesting – the Monster asks that the bride be cursed like him, and be spirited away to South America to hide from the rest of humanity. Frankenstein initially accepts – I do not wish to judge on the morality of the creation, but it certainly seems odd that the Monster wishes his own miserable existence on another.
Kind regards,
The Hapless Neo-Romantic

Tell us what you thought, or if to you these words are naught.

