Poem 58 – The Price of Love

“Grief is the price we pay for love”
– Queen Elizabeth II

You are dead now, cold in the ground,
And I mourn you, for as words echo around.
Without you they seem as empty shells without any meaning –
‘Grief is the price we pay for love’.
You know I loved you once,
But this is not the price.
The price was every moment that I spent with you and for you,
The price was the joy I gave you, and when I dried your tears,
The price was gargantuan, the price was my soul,
But the return was infinitely great.
So when I grieve, it is not the price of love,
Nor indeed is it the reward of love I mourn.
I mourn that I’ll never pay the price of love again,
For you have left me here, cold and forlorn.

***

Dear readers,
As a British citizen, it causes a great sense of disquiet to disagree, however mildly, with my sovereign, especially when she writes such inspiring and moving words. However, I wrote this in response to seeing the words on a memorial for those who died in 9/11, and wrote this as a reaction to the concept. I regret the passing of those who I will never be able to pay the price of love to again.
In somewhat less grim news, why not check out our new, streamlined About page? All the same information, in much shorter and neater prose.
The Hapless Neo-Romantic.

Tell us what you thought, or if to you these words are naught.

