Poem 59 – Metrical Experimentation

The Hapless Neo-Romantic
Has never before used a limerick,
So I present one here,
And have no fear –
The scansion is perfectly metric.

Neither has haiku
Been seen on this hapless blog
Until tonight, friend.

Nor has Homeric epic verse appeared within this blog –
I find dactylic forms take too long to do well enough for you
So until next week I will say farewell unto my readers.

(But seriously, I’ll make more effort next time. Possibly).

***

Dear readers,
Today’s poem is essentially a filler. The poem I wanted to use didn’t work, so instead you are treated to a brief glimpse into the wonderful world of fixed-form verses. I have recently been writing in dactylic hexameter for another project I’ve been working on, and enjoyed it – well worth a try, but seriously hard. Maybe at some point I’ll upload a poem using the form.
I hope you have a good weekend.
The Hapless Neo-Romantic

One thought on “Poem 59 – Metrical Experimentation

  1. Pingback: Poem 67 – Dactylic Dreams « The Hapless Neo-Romantic

Tell us what you thought, or if to you these words are naught.

