Poem 81 – View from the Final Balcony

Do you think I don’t feel that the wind is a-changing,
Do you think I don’t see the stars rolling and ranging?
Do you think I don’t hear the birds I love are flying
Away! For the world that I loved is dying.

Do you think I can’t hear all the people there screaming,
Do you think I can’t tell what the mob there is feeling?
How could I have been who I am if when
Things change, I didn’t know my world’s at an end?

You who did this be happy now,
Watch me burn
But know that without me you’ll be on your own –
Betrayal will find you, I long for your turn.

When you feel worlds collapsing that you built with your hands,
And your cities as dust ‘neath your feet,
All on your own you look out on the street and weep –
For the change of the wind.

***

Dear readers,

For some reason when I was writing this I came up with a very clear image of the classic story of a ruler, betrayed by those around them, watching their people outside knowing that it is the end. This is the result – the change of the wind. Although I’ve roughly set it to music in my head, I’m not sharing that at the moment, unless you really want me to. Do you ever set your poetry to music?

Kind regards,

The Hapless Neo-Romantic

Tell us what you thought, or if to you these words are naught.

