Poem 86 – You want my Heart?

You seem to want my heart and I would give it to you except
Halfway to removing it my hand would grow still,
And thus, alas, I cannot remove my feeble poet’s heart
So I can hand it to you and watch it be torn apart.
I hope instead this poem you’ll accept,
For by your sacred will,
The red life that through my heart floods
Is yours, for I write this in my blood.

***

Dear readers,

I’m relatively confident that I’ve never used this rhyme scheme before, although it’s a fairly similar idea to that employed a long time ago in ‘The Harvest Mouse‘. However, I think it works – what do you think?

Kind regards,

The Hapless Neo-Romantic

Tell us what you thought, or if to you these words are naught.

