Poem 88 – I Don’t Remember You Any More

I just recalled that I don’t remember you any more,
And it’s not your face that flits through dreams.
It grieves me to see that while waiting for you,
My heart has grown old, it seems.
No longer does it hope for the inferno of youth,
But instead the peaceful warmth of a cooling coal,
And perhaps now it does not bleed for you every night,
I can look forward to my heart becoming whole.

***

Dear readers,

I hope you are well. This is an inversion of a song that I am very fond of – ‘I don’t remember you’, from Kander and Ebb’s little-known musical ‘The Happy Time’. The link there is to a version of it as a solo, but in the musical it is, in fact, a duet, and my favourite YouTube version is here. Do you like the songs? I rather hope you do, even though it was not the original inspiration, but rather something I realised as I started writing.

Warm regards,

The Hapless Neo-Romantic

Tell us what you thought, or if to you these words are naught.

