Poem 90 – It Was Not Her Name

I whispered in the ear of the one I said I loved,
But it was not her name.
Instead it was a title long forgot,
That for years had been my sole aim.
Longing for the comfort of their warm embracing arms,
I pursued them beyond madness and their driving me away.
I thought I had forgotten her while I walked out with you,
Believed that the haunting memory of the past had gone,
But I kissed you dear, and your tantalising lips became hers,
Those leaf-green eyes turned blue,
And as we lay together in one warm moment I thought you were the same.
I whispered in the ear of the one I said I loved,
But it was not her name.

***

Dear readers,

As ever, this week ends on a slightly melancholy note. But as one reader recently pointed out to me, most of the poems on here are melancholy, so I guess that’s just statistics.

Have a good weekend!

The Hapless Neo-Romantic

2 thoughts on “Poem 90 – It Was Not Her Name

Tell us what you thought, or if to you these words are naught.

