Poem 91 – Where are those Golden Days?

Where are they now, those golden days of my youth,
That have brought me here and left me?
They have flitted away to flirt with another,
Spurning me though we embraced as brothers.
Have they now left me, am I to blame?
Do they despise me for childish games?
Where are those golden days?

***

Dear readers,

Here is the first of a number of poems after Tchaikovsky’s Eugene Oniegin. It is a truly fantastic opera, currently on at the Royal Opera House (And almost always on somewhere). This particular poem was written after Lensky’s aria before he dies. A recording with translation is here. It is sung before Lensky fights a duel against his friend, Onegin, who he angrily challenged to a duel at a party after a conflict over Lensky’s fiancé. He reflects on what has passed as he faces his death.

I hope that you enjoy it, and like the new site design. I think it’s a lot more open than before.

The Hapless Neo-Romantic

Tell us what you thought, or if to you these words are naught.

