Poem 95 – My Fate

Disgrace!
Anguish!
My fate!
No escaping destiny,
Finally catching up with me,
So sieze me in your fierce arms,
Drown me with your bitter charms,
And take me to your hell,
That I have earned with my
Disdain,
My apathy!
My words!
My chastity!
This fate was created by my hand,
As up above the gods did stand,
And ridicule my arrogance,
As I earned disgrace,
Anguish –
My fate!

***

Dear readers,

We come to the end of my set of poems based on Onegin, with the closing lines of the opera. Rejected by Tatyana, who swears fidelity to her husband, Onegin is left alone, cursing his fate. An excellent version can be found here. The quote is from 9:45, but the more of the scene you watch the better it is. Better yet, watch the whole opera.

Seriously, it’s worth it.

The Hapless Neo-Romantic

Tell us what you thought, or if to you these words are naught.

