Poem 113 – Parrots and Poetry

Peculiarly both Python and Puccini,
Preserved for posterity the sickness of parrots,
Post-humously placing the parrot with parsley
Precariously pecking to perdition.
Perchance you’ll persuade me,
Parrots and poetry,
Proclaimed ‘pproximately poorly fare.
Poor, I agree,
Since parrots are for pirates and the Pacific,
Perhaps you’re perplexed,
Peer at my reply –
As the parrot, so pass I.

***

Dear readers,

I apologise for this awful poem. Alas, I am sick as a parrot. The Python parrot sketch is well known – Act 1 of Puccini’s La Boheme less so. Both, however, are worth looking at on YouTube.

Kind regards,

The Hapless Neo-Romantic

Tell us what you thought, or if to you these words are naught.

