Poem 133 – Not So Very Long Ago

Not so very long ago,
I think I fell in love with you.
Day after day, and hour after hour.
But now you’re leaving,
And life won’t be the same,
’cause not so very long ago,
I fell in love.

Once upon a time,
Perhaps a year, perhaps an day,
Something in me changed, and that’s the way it stayed.
But now you’re leaving,
And life won’t be the same,
’cause not so very long ago,
I fell in love.

Now they say you’re leaving me,
Going far away,
Perhaps only a mile, but a thousand to my heart.
For now you’re leaving,
And I will never say,
That not so very long ago,
I fell in love.

***

Dear readers,

Another romantic poem for you. I hope that you enjoy it. It was originally a song I wrote some time ago, which I cannot remember in full. This is an adapted version from the fragments I recall.

Warm regards,

The Hapless Neo-Romantic

Tell us what you thought, or if to you these words are naught.

