Poem 134 – My Cage of Gold

These gifts from my mother,
Gifts from my mother,
Countless adventures, a lifetime of luxury!
Can you not see I’m stuck,
In a cage of gold?
Ev’ry bar is of silver,
Ev’ry light split by a diamond,
In my cage of gold?
These presents and offerings –
Mere silken chains!
Each one is a debt that will always remain.
Though the floor is of marbles,
And the sink flows with wine,
Still it’s a cage –
My cage of gold!

***

Dear readers,

I have drafted poetry about golden cages before. I do not believe that I have ever uploaded it however, and I hope that you enjoy it.

Kind regards,

The Hapless Neo-Romantic

Tell us what you thought, or if to you these words are naught.

