Poem 141 – Of a Butterfly

The day was hot and the sun was high,
When I saw at last a butterfly –
My first this year, and it made me glad,
With its mud-clad wings and small white patch,
For first I saw its flickering shadow,
And then I gazed above,
And saw that butterfly’s beating wings,
With which I fell in love.
Though ugly of itself, with those dull brown wings,
That it was the first butterfly made my spirit sing.

***

Dear readers,

Today was the first day of hot weather in London, so I went for a walk in Regent’s Park. While I was on the phone I saw, as this poem makes obvious, a butterfly – the first time I’ve seen one this year, which was very nice. It wasn’t the most exciting butterfly, but even so. I like butterflies.

Kind regards,

The Hapless Neo-Romantic

Tell us what you thought, or if to you these words are naught.

