Poem 150 – They Told Me

They told me it would be wonderful to love.
It wasn’t. At best it was a conversation piece,
An amusing dinner-anecdote, something for the C.V.;
At worst a waste of time, work without release –
Isn’t that slavery or bondage?
It perplexes me, therefore, why people praise it so high,
Since it seems to me to have no actual worth
(Though to say I didn’t love you would not not be a lie)

***

Dear readers,

150 poems! It seems like such a long time ago that I started. I hope you find this at least mildly amusing.

Kind regards,

The Hapless Neo-Romantic

Tell us what you thought, or if to you these words are naught.

