Poem 151 – A Kiss Without Joy

A kiss without joy?
I thought there was no such thing
’til I kissed you and thought of her.

As poison spread through my mind
My veins and passions chilled,
And I despised you, I spurned myself.

My soul still lingers on her cherry lips,
My nose remembering her perfumed smell,
My eyes close and see her;

Oh shame! May they never again open on you.

***

Dear readers,

This is a rather less sweet poem than many I have written – what do you think? Despite the division into verses, I still read it as if there were no breaks, though I’m not sure I like the absence of rhyme.

Kind regards,

The Hapless Neo-Romantic

Tell us what you thought, or if to you these words are naught.

