Poem 154 – They Called Me Pious

They called me pious long ago,
Admired my devout charm,
And then she entered my sanctuary;
My weapons were disarmed.
I knelt before the altar,
But felt distracted by mere hymns;
I thought of might angels,
But could not care for Seraphim.
Once upon a time I would have thought this change so odd,
But, my sultry lady, you make me forget God!

***

Dear readers,

Today there is another late posting – I am sorry. Once again I got distracted reading. Today’s poem comes from the quote that ends Act 1 of Puccini’s Tosca – “Tosca, you make me forget God!” cries Scarpia, the villain, as he swears he will have her, and execute her lover. It is a hugely dramatic moment. I would advise you to listen to it whenever you get the chance (to hear a good version).

Kind regards,

The Hapless Neo-Romantic.

Tell us what you thought, or if to you these words are naught.

