Poem 179 – Do You Not Know Me?

Know ye not me? Ye knew me once no mate
For you, there sitting where ye durst not soar;
Not to know me argues yourselves unknown,
The lowest of your throng

Milton, Paradise Lost, Book IV, 828-831

Do you not know me? Your insolent ignorance
Hardly becomes one sent to pursue I,
A king in my own right, leader of thousands,
Lord of the liberated, master of the free,
And yet you do not know me? Were you blind
When we made battle in northernmost heaven?
Or merely too steeped in dull stupor to notice me?
I am a prince of Hell, you will know me now –
Do not insult a sovereign of such divinity.

***

Dear readers,

Today’s quote is from a point when Satan is (temporarily) captured by a pair of angels. He is enormously insulted when they do not recognise him, despite being the Adversary. He chastises them for their ignorance as they seek to capture him

Kind regards,

The Hapless Neo-Romantic

Tell us what you thought, or if to you these words are naught.

