Poem 195 – I Will Know

Is knowledge so despised?

Milton, Paradise Lost, Book V, 60

I will know when I am older, be told when I am grey,
Informed when I am higher, inducted when you say.
All wisdom has its moment when it can be shared
But that moment’s never now – the perfect one’s prepared
Or is it? For when a child you told me I could wait,
But now that I am grown my ambitions you frustrate.
I’m tired of the mystery, the façade of truth and lies,
All I ask is honesty; is knowledge so despised?

The truth remains a dream to me, something I have never known,
I’m tired of simply waiting as my ignorance has grown.
So tell me now oh guardians, burdened by your ken,
When will be the moment that you don’t say no again?
‘cos I’m tired of the mystery, the façade of truth and lies,
All I ask is honesty; is knowledge so despised?

***

Dear readers,

Satan appears in a dream to Eve and tries to tempt her with the Tree of Knowledge. He fails (this time), but still raises an interesting question – one that I’ve addressed in several other poems. Why is knowledge the thing that God seeks to hide?

Kind regards,

The Hapless Neo-Romantic

Tell us what you thought, or if to you these words are naught.

