Poem 199 – So I Failed?

To dwell free if not to reign

Milton, Paradise Lost, Book VI, 292

So I failed to achieve victory,
And you shout coward as I leave?
You mock my choice to escape their reign;
To choose what I can be?
I do not flee, I stride away
To a new kingdom of little fame,
And there I shall live a mean and meagre life
To dwell free if not to reign.

***

Dear readers,

Apologies for the late posting – work, alas, caught up with me. But now I have posted this – to some extent it was (Of course) inspired by Milton, but to a greater extent it was inspired by 19th-century exiles, who would withdraw from their countries to be free, though far from home.

Kind regards,

The Hapless Neo-Romantic

Tell us what you thought, or if to you these words are naught.

