Poem 208 – Tell Me, Beautiful Stranger

O by what name, for thou art above all these,
Above mankind, or aught than mankind higher,
Surpassest far my naming, how may I
Adore thee, author of this universe…

Milton, Paradise Lost, Book VIII, 357-360

Tell me, beautiful stranger,
From whence such an angel came.
Where came unearthly perfection,
Speak! Oh by what name
Can one I love as I love you
Be referred to on mortal plane?
Whisper it my darling,
And tell me how I might adore thee.

***

Dear readers,

This poem is deliberately absurd – particularly reminiscent of Italian opera of the 19th century, where tenors see the soprano, and immediately fall in love.

Kind regards,

The Hapless Neo-Romantic

Tell us what you thought, or if to you these words are naught.

