Poem 220 – I Spent A Blissful Moment

Subtle he must be, who could seduce
Angels

Milton, Paradise Lost, Book IX, 307-8

I spent a blissful moment in foolishness,
And succumbed to the temptation of her arms;
Clung, like a sailor to the driftwood,
To the comfort that I found in her warmth;
Oh maternal heat that did deceive me!
Like Oedipus I was tricked by your embrace
And now, ashamed, can I say anything,
But a cry for mercy, that you might understand
That aye, I am guilty; against you I have sinned –
But was turned mad by one who could seduce the angels.

***

Dear readers,

I apologise for the delay in recent updates. I hope to catch up shortly. Alas, there were power cuts in my area, and there were various other things of greater import to do. I hope you enjoyed your Christmas, if you celebrated it – and if not, that late December goes well for you.

Kind regards,

The Hapless Neo-Romantic

One thought on “Poem 220 – I Spent A Blissful Moment

Tell us what you thought, or if to you these words are naught.

