Poem 223 – How Have I Entered This Rapture?

Thoughts, wither have ye led me

Milton, Paradise Lost, Book IX, 473

How have I entered this rapture,
This seemly and sweet state of bliss?
The feeling of stillness and quiet within
Like the sealing of love with a kiss?
What brought me to this paradise,
A new world I’ve never known?
I must leave now, wond’rous gardens –
This joy is not my own.

***

Dear readers,

A poem I am fairly happy with. Unsurprisingly, it is a quote from Satan. He enters Eden and finds a moment of peace, before realising that it is not his bliss. He has no chance of it, and recognises that he can no longer find happiness – wait for the next poem to see my favourite moment of that speech.

Kind regards,

The Hapless Neo-Romantic

Tell us what you thought, or if to you these words are naught.

