Poem 253 – You Used to Mean the World to Me

You used to mean the world to me,
You used to be my sun,
You used to mean the world to me
But now your love is done.

And I lie beneath the fountains that we knew,
And I’ve cried beneath their trickling waters
And I’ve sang as I drank in those waters
To drown myself as I threatened I’d do.

You used to mean my life to me,
You used to be my God!
You used to be eternity,
But now you’ve gone,
That’s odd…

And I’d dream beneath the trickling fountains
That you’d see me singing in their cold waters
And come to me and say that you loved me
Before my time was gone.

But you used to mean the world to me,
You used to be my woe,
You used to be my life for me,
That died when you chose to go.

***

Dear readers,

Finally, a romantic poem! This one sounds like a folk song in my head – the ‘you used to mean the world to me’ sounds a lot like ‘In Dulce Jublio’, an old Christmas carol, while the chorus sounds like I might have invented it myself, though it sounds very folk-like.

Kind regards,

The Hapless Neo-Romantic

Tell us what you thought, or if to you these words are naught.

