Poem 282 – Have I killed my only light?

Have I killed she who was my only light,
My sun, my moon, my stars?
Oh god! The shame!
How can I bear to look
At this hideous mask of decency
When it was my blade that struck her down,
Wounded her, stole her life
And slaughtered that which I dreamed would love
The hand that ended her sanctity.
Now what! With sin, ashamed,
I ban myself from my fellow man
And flee, to never love again.

***

Dear readers,

The first two lines have been sitting in my head for some time. It is only now that I have been able to attach a worthwhile poem to them.

Kind regards,

The Hapless Neo-Romantic

Tell us what you thought, or if to you these words are naught.

