Poem 285 – If You Knew

If you knew how beautiful you looked tonight,
How the stars seem dull beside your eyes
And the night eternal seems sallow and pale
When caught behind your billowing sable hair
You’d not ask me the reason
That I stare at you and smile,
You’d just laugh and you’d reply
That you know the reason why-

If you knew how beautiful you are tonight.

If you knew the chill that I feel every night
How the coldness sneaks between my bones
And alone in my bed the frosty crystals form
Beside my lonely body every morn
You’d not ask me the reason that I hold you and smile
At the feel of warmness by my heart,
Yes you’d know the reason why-

If you knew how warm you are tonight.

If you knew my eyes as you leave ev’ry night
How they sigh and turn towards the ground
And they shine as the lamplight sparkles in my eyes
As water fills them as you walk away
You’d not ask me the reason
That even though I smile
In my eyes some agony is shown,
Yes you’d know the reason why-

If you knew how I will weep tonight.

***

Dear readers,

The other day was something of a milestone for me – I reached 200 followers, after almost two years! To celebrate, here’s some old fashioned love poetry.

Best wishes,

The Hapless Neo-Romantic

Tell us what you thought, or if to you these words are naught.

