Poem 287 – The Drunken Ships

All the world, Lord,
Is burning around me
And threatens to drown me
In all its ideas –
But for my drunken ships of tears.
Only you, Lord,
Know how it feels,
So please do end them in my name;
Let them fall silent
That I might finally sleep…

***

Dear readers,

I found this while searching through my notebooks – which included less pleasant discoveries, like an essay plan (for, I admit, a fascinating essay on fin-de-siecle homosexuality in Britain) and a receipt I should have claimed on expenses. I recall how it was written – I woke from sleep with the song in my head. It is something like a negro spiritual – as ever, I hope you enjoy it, even though it is the confused ramblings of a half-asleep mind.

Kind regards,

The Hapless Neo-Romantic

Tell us what you thought, or if to you these words are naught.

