Poem 288 – Anything

They told me I could be anything,
Be the best if I only tried,
But I grew older, and by fifteen,
Knew I had an unremarkable life.
Since then I’ve barely bothered dreaming,
But there’s still one wish I’m sure is true –
For I know I would give anything
If I meant I was loved by you.

***

Dear readers,

Once again I return to love poetry, and to tales of unrequited love and disappointed hopes.

Kind regards,

The Hapless Neo-Romantic

Tell us what you thought, or if to you these words are naught.

