Poem 300 – Hello Mother

Hello, mother (What an empty phrase,
When I know all the things I wish to say).
No, I’m just calling to talk to my mother,
For no clear reason – why should there be?
(After all, dear mother, I’ve wished to say this before,
That there’s something you don’t know about me).
I sound confused? I wonder why –
Is there a problem at your end of the line?
(Go on, do it, say what you need to say,
It might as well be now, might as well be today).
No, mother, I’m not about to cry,
But I was calling to say that I was, I am –

Fine, yes (No I’m not at all,
Why can’t I tell you in this telephone call?)
Still, I must say farewell (And choke as I turn away,
For I know I’ll never say the things I wish to say).

***

Dear readers,

For the 300th poem I’ve put on this blog, I decided to publish this. It has been sitting in my ‘drafts’ folder for months now, and has been bothering me. In part, I admit, because I really like having a fallback poem, and this is it. But now, after nearly two years’ writing, I want to put it out there. I hope that you enjoy it. The reason I wrote it is that every now and then (Although less often nowadays) I like to do something in response to a WordPress suggestion. This poem is in response to a daily prompt, “Write a letter to your mom [sic.]. Tell her something you’ve always wanted to say, but haven’t been able to.” Now, I wouldn’t say I’ve always wanted to say this – indeed, not saying is easier by far – but there’s enough ambiguity that it could be almost anything I’ve wanted to say to my mother… I’m just not going to tell her.

Still, I hope you enjoy it.

The Hapless Neo-Romantic

Tell us what you thought, or if to you these words are naught.

