Poem 302 – I Saw You

I saw you across the room
And you smiled a beautiful smile.
Subsequently I fell in love,
And maybe you did too.
But if you did, it was not with me,
So I watch you lean on them and toy with their hair.
But even though you’re beautiful,
I don’t think I have the right to your love.
You be happy the way things are – as long as you are, so am I.

***

Dear readers,

I wrote this after listening to a number of the songs from Axis of Awesome’s Four Chord Song (well worth a listen). Some – particularly ‘You’re Beautiful’ – struck me as being ridiculously entitled, as if the singer had any right to somebody, just because the somebody – not even the singer – was desirable. I like corny love songs, I confess. But it seemed off to me, so I wrote this.

Kind regards,

The Hapless Neo-Romantic.

Tell us what you thought, or if to you these words are naught.

