Poem 315 – To Love like You

I wish I could love like you, I do,
With your fire and passion and joy,
But instead I love like a river,
Slowly and quietly,
Slinking through calcium halls
Hidden from other eyes
Waiting to emerge from the ground
And become dazzling in the sunrise.

***

Dear readers,

So many fictional lovers tend towards the ‘fiery’ style of love – passionate and hot. But I do enjoy reading things about more gradual, measured people. And so I wrote something.

Kind regards,

The Hapless Neo-Romantic

2 thoughts on “Poem 315 – To Love like You

  1. I feel like love is a gradual thing overall (especially after the first few years). For me the idea of building a relationship, a romance bit by bit over the years seems so beautiful. I enjoyed your poem.

Tell us what you thought, or if to you these words are naught.

