Poem 317 – I am a Monster

By all means I am a monster,
Am callous to you and all.
I have been since I was forced from the womb,
Where I was sheltered, protected and warm.
Since then I have wrought my vengeance
On an unfeeling, unloving world
But only in order to protect me
From the chance I might fall in love.

***

Dear readers,

An old cliché – the embittered person who is secretly afraid of being hurt. I refuse to apologise for the fact that the title makes me think of a song from ‘The Hunchback of Notre Dame’ (Disney version), which can be found here.

Kind regards,

The Hapless Neo-Romantic

Kind regards,

The Hapless Neo-Romantic

Tell us what you thought, or if to you these words are naught.

