Poem 336 – Vita Fugitir

Vita Fugitir

Life is fleeting

If you wondered what, now I am grown old,
I reasoned was the lesson of my wanderings through time,
I’ll tell you – there’s no reason or rhyme to it,
Just existing as a speck of nothing in the universe.
We can beg for immortality through our children or our art,
But we will never know what became of them.
All that I know is that the ones I love will die
And every second whispers “So will I, so will I.”

***

Dear readers,

I have decided to do a number of poems based on some Latin mottos related to time passing, having discovered that I made a note of them many years ago, and then lost the note. Since then, what I write has changed a lot – and, to my mind, got rather better. Shortly before typing this up, I had lunch and was reminded of the less-than-masterful poem ‘Pitta Bread‘. I’m rather glad to have put so much time between then and now.

Kind regards,

The Hapless Neo-Romantic

Tell us what you thought, or if to you these words are naught.

