Poem 338 – Ae Sterna Respice

Ae Sterna Respice

Look upon eternity

I obey the command – it is impossible for gods
To see all the worlds and stars without weeping
As they dance through all of time, colliding or avoiding,
Collapsing into nebulae, then entropic nothingness.
And I am not a god, so such wonders in my mind
Drive me mad, make me close my eyes, hiding from forever,
And still more hide the sunlit soil that itself is soiled by time,
For I cannot, having seen all things, forget all things must die.

***

Dear readers,

This is the second of my poems after Latin mottos about time. I have decided to call the collection ‘Tempus Fugit’ – time flies, after  a famous quotation that I do not, in fact, use. I hope that you enjoy this.

Kind regards,

The Hapless Neo-Romantic.

Tell us what you thought, or if to you these words are naught.

