Poem 340 – Caduca Despice

Caduca Despice

Look down on a fallen thing

I am but dull matter, but I think of the sky,
The sky that has seen my ancestors’ eternity
But at night I see beyond – seen comets and meteors die,
Know that I see suns that are beyond me.
And knowing they collapse and burn,
Leaving only the blackness forever,
I know I must too, but with sooner turn,
And the realisation swiftly sets upon me –
Thinking matter and must be aware that it must die,
And living for less than eternity makes it but a waste of time.

***

Dear readers,

Here is another one of the ‘Tempus Fugit’ poems – I hope you enjoy it. The idea of eternity is something I find very enjoyable to write about, with the certain knowledge that I will never, ever manage to do it justice.

Kind regards,

The Hapless Neo-Romantic

Tell us what you thought, or if to you these words are naught.

