Poem 343 – Nihil Sine Te

Nihil Sine Te

Nothing without you

Oh universe, you, eternal one, looming over my work
With your infinite and unimaginable eternity,
Secure in the knowledge that all but you must end,
Collapse into dust before your time,
You are my everything, I cannot be without you,
I dream of you and hunger to escape your void.
And yet for all my yearnings, my entrapment, for my snares,
You are everything without me, it is impossible for you to care.

***

Dear readers,

Here is the penultimate poem of the Tempus Fugit cycle. I hope that you enjoy it. I suspect that I deliberately misinterpreted the motto on the watch – it appeared to be a gift given to a lover.

Kind regards,

The Hapless Neo-Romantic

Tell us what you thought, or if to you these words are naught.

