Poem 391 – Somebody Told Me That You Were Once in Love With Me

Somebody told me that you were once in love with me,
When they first told me I gave a laugh quite gentlemanly
While inside I laughed yet more, for

About the same time that I hear you were in love with me
I was in love with you
But now we are old and clad in years of decency
The days for such love are through.

And yet when I see through the veil of my memories
The girl that you once were before
I see in her eyes the same denial and lies
That I see in your eyes right now.

But that must be fancy, we both are old and frankly
Far too old to dream
The look in your eyes is just them reflecting mine
Things must be all that they seem.

***

Dear readers,

I am well aware that last week I took an unexpected leave of absence. Unfortunately I was very busy with a show I’m involved with due to some regrettable events. To make up for it, this week will have two poems every weekday, one at lunchtime and one in the evening. Depending how you want to look at it, that’s either twice as many poems as usual, or five extremely delayed poems.

Kind regards,

The Hapless Neo-Romantic

One thought on “Poem 391 – Somebody Told Me That You Were Once in Love With Me

  1. Pingback: Poem 431 – Sunset at Heathrow | The Hapless Neo-Romantic

Tell us what you thought, or if to you these words are naught.

