Poem 432 – Redacted

Trust.

Vote for trusts.

Vote for who trusts you.

Vote for who you trust TO serve you

Vote for who you trust TO serve your interest

Vote for who you trust TO serve you
It’s very interesting.

Vote for who you trust TO serve you
It’s very interesting
Choosing who’ll rule

Vote for who you trust TO serve you
It’s very interesting
We HaVe to InTereSt you
n choosing who’ll rule

Vote for who you trust TO serve you
think you like me, ThAt’s VeRy interesting
BeCause we HaVe to InTereSt you
n choosing who’ll rule

Vote for who you trust TO serve you
I think you like me, ThAt’s VeRy interesting
BeCause we hate to give the ordinary people
Information that regards The Secrets of governing
When choosing who’ll rule

Vote for who you trust TO serve you
I think you like me
Though at heart I seem to be
Venal, hungry, uninterested in your suffering
BeCause we hate to give the ordinary people
Information that regards The Secrets of governing
When choosing who’ll rule

Vote for who you trust TO serve you
I think you should think like me
Though at heart I seem to be
Venal, hungry, uninterested in your suffering
belive you’re Its cause
No, we hate to give the ordinary people
Information that regards The Secrets of governing
When choosing who’ll rule.

Vote for who you trust TO serve you
I think you should think like me
Though at heart I seem to be
Venal, hungry, uninterested in your suffering
I believe you’re Its cause.
No we hate to give the ordinary people
Information that regards
A thousand sinful undeclared effects of our governing
When choosing who’ll have power to rule.

Vote for who you trust, buask whdeserveyour
Vote for who you trust, but ask what, no demand that those who serve you
Tell you what they’re doing
I think you should think, just ask, like me
Though at heart they might seem to be

Venal, hungry, uninterested in your suffering
I believe you’re their apathy‘s cause.
Now we must say:
Even if it’s happening far too late

It’s time to give the ordinary people
Information that regards
A thousand sinful undeclared effects of your governing
When we’re choosing who’ll have power to rule.

Vote for who you trust, but ask what y’re doing
I think you should think like me
Though I might seem to be
Uninterested in your suffering
I believe you’re the apathy’s cause
We must say it’s far too late
To give the ordinary people
Information that regards
A thousand effects of our governing
When we’re choosing who’ll have power to rule.

Vote for who you trust but you seem to be
Uninterested in your suffering’s cause
It’s far too late to get
Information that regards
A thousandth o’ ower rule.

Vote for who you trust, but ask who deserves your vote

Vote for who you trust.

Vote, or trust.

Trust.

Us.

***

Dear readers,

It has been some time, I am aware, since the last post, but I wrote this and wanted a ‘trial run’ of it before developing the idea further. The idea is fairly simple – the UK has an election. As my civil service friends tell me, ‘I have no idea what it’s really like’. No, I don’t. And thanks to classification and deliberate obfuscation, there’s precious little chance that I ever will have an idea of what it’s really like.

So, what’s with this long poem. In case it isn’t obvious, it starts out with a ‘heavily-redacted’ version of the poem, and then gradually expands until the whole, unauthorised, version is revealed, and then adapted by a different voice – probably a tenor. Then the redaction kicks in again until finally you end with possibly my favourite two lines – the last two.

What would I like to do in the longer term with this? Ideally, find a composer (or do it myself) who’d be willing to try setting this in a similar manner. It might be difficult, but I’d love to see and hear the result.

Kind regards,

The Hapless Neo-Romantic

Tell us what you thought, or if to you these words are naught.

